SkyDrive is a standalone online cloud service by Microsoft and they have been integrated it with Windows 8. Even though SkyDrive is now available for most of the platforms it has failed to attract users from other existing online cloud storage services. Its biggest asset as far as I can tell is that it is available as integral part of Windows 8, the upcoming operating system scheduled to release on 26 October, 2012, which offers quick, secure online storage features to its users. It does not mean that SkyDrive is not a great service on its own; it has lots of features which make it unique when compared with other popular online cloud storage solutions. Yesterday, Microsoft revealed a new feature in SkyDrive – now all the deleted files will be moved to the Recycle Bin from where they can be recovered if you deleted them by mistake. Until now, this was not possible and once you deleted any file or folder from SkyDrive, it was impossible to recover it. This is no longer the case. Now users have to delete the files from Recycle Bin as well if they want to remove any file permanently from their SkyDrive account.
How to Get Back Deleted Files in SkyDrive using the Recycle Bin?
Recovering deleted files from SkyDrive is quite easy and it is similar to deleting files from the account. To delete files, you must select the files that you want to remove from the account using the checkbox and then choose the delete option from the Manage menu which will appear automatically when you select the files.
When you delete any file, SkyDrive will offer a notification popup with Undo option. You can recover your files right after deleting them by clicking on the Undo option in the popup. This popup is very helpful to recover your deleted files if you have deleted them accidentally without going to the Recycle Bin. Once you ignore the popup and close it, you will find your deleted files in the Recycle Bin.
To get the deleted files back from SkyDrive Recycle Bin, you need to follow the instructions given below:
Click on Recycle Bin from the bottom of the left side panel..
Now go through the Recycle Bin and look for the files you have deleted by mistake. Select them using the checkboxes to their left. When you select any file, both recover and delete options will popup automatically at the top of the screen. You can choose the recover option to restore the selected files to the same location from where they were deleted.
Apart from Recover and Delete options, you can use the Properties option to check the file properties. It will show you the complete history of deleted file like date of creation, deleted date, name of the user who added the file, type of data and size as well. You can also check the location from where the selected file was deleted to confirm that the file that you have selected is the same file that you are looking for.